Rovanpera seals commanding Estonia win

By Adam Hall

18 July 2021

Wonderkid confirmed

He's finally done it - Kalle Rovanpera has become the youngest ever driver to win a round of the World Rally Championship. The 20-year-old stole the show, winning eight stages. Rovanpera's victory was rarely in doubt after Ott Tanak's early exit from his home event.


Brilliant Breen

Rovanpera was a runaway winner but Craig Breen shined to repeat his runner-up result from last year. The Irishman admitted he couldn't match the Finn's commitment as he lacked seat-time but the result, ahead of team-mate Thierry Neuville, could be pivotal in his bid for a Rally1 seat next year.


Final WRC classification


1. Rovanpera / Halttunen 2. Breen / Nagle 3. Neuville / Wydaeghe 4. Ogier / Ingrassia 5. Evans / Martin 6. Suninen / Markkula

2:51:29.1 +59.9 +1:12.4 +1:24.0 +2:07.1 +7:07.3

Power Stage

Tanak was the first to set the Power Stage timing screen alight and it was a time that none of his rivals could match. Neuville, Ogier, and Evans all tried but had to settle for four to two PS points respectively as they struggled in Tartu vald's heavily rutted corners.


Mikkelsen back on track

It has been an important WRC 2 winning weekend for Andreas Mikkelsen. His campaign hit bumps earlier this year with accidents in Croatia and Sardinia. Mads Ostberg settles for second thanks to car struggles, penalties and a debeaded tyre. WRC 3 winner Alexey Lukyanuk finished as fastest Rally2 driver in eighth overall.


WRC standings


1. Sebastien Ogier 2. Elfyn Evans 3. Thierry Neuville 4. Kalle Rovanpera 5. Ott Tanak 6. Takamoto Katsuta

148 pts 111 96 82 74 66

For more stories like this follow Rally Insight on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram!